Anphelion Splinter Fleet – A New Beginning

Posted: January 17, 2014 in Site Updates, Work in Progress
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A couple of years ago I started experimenting with some new painting techniques that I hoped would speed up my painting of horde armies. I first tried on some Chaos Space Marines and then moved on to Orks. I liked the results and even did a couple army commissions using the technique (check the Tau, Lizardmen and Chaos Marine pages to see how they turned out).

Unfortunately, the method did not translate to my beloved Kraken Tyranids. Add to that the fact that almost all of Kraken had been painted during a month-long stay in the hospital, I figured that it might be time to reboot the army. Luckily for me, I had just acquired my autographed copy of Forge World’s Anphelion Project book. I liked the olive and bone look of these swamp-spawned monstrosities. I also like the idea that an Imperial Inquisitor’s pet project had gone awry and unleashed fresh horrors on the galaxy. So, I undertook to paint some of the unfinished bugs in my collection in the new scheme and with the new technique. I really liked the result and put some WiP and tutorial pics up on Warseer after the effort. Unfortunately, after the initial burst of enthusiasm, I drifted off into other projects and well… you can guess the rest. Here they are.

Fast forward a half-dozen years and BEHOLD! A new Tyranid codex is upon us. I know that the reviews are mixed and haters abound, but I find myself succumbing to the siren call of the hive mind once again. So today I am posting a picture of the models from years ago that will form the core of the new army. I am also creating a new page to post each unit as it is completed.

Anphelion Fleet - starting point

Warhammer 40k Battlefleet Gothic Tyranid Fleet 01

I know that there isn’t an playable list represented here (except for the Battlefleet Gothic Ships). The coming weeks will see my filling in the gaps and bolstering the army greatly. Once I get the codex I’ll be able to decide where to spend my money on reinforcements. For now, I know that I need more Termagants, Hormagaunts, Devourer Gaunts, and Gargoyles. Luckily for me, the closet-of-devouring holds many unpainted bio-monstrosities to start work on. I’ll keep you posted. You’ll need the head start if you hope to escape.

Comments
  1. […] bugs.  I will post them later.  Meanwhile, check out the Anphelion Splinter Fleet page or the New Beginning post for more of this growing […]

Feel free to leave comments, suggestions, or questions.

