Fly! Be Free!

Posted: July 9, 2012 in Galleries
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

With everyone still digesting the new rules and re-tooling their lists to suit, I thought that I would just give a quick shout out about flyers and the new 6th Edition of Warhammer 40k.  You’ve seen the cool, new models and the potential they have to add a new dimension to our tabletop conflicts.  I can’t wait to see what models might be released in upcoming codices that will escalate the “air war”.

Imperial Navy fighters to support the Imperial Guard armies?  Tau close air support?  Twisted Chaos strike craft?  Elegant Eldar flyers ghosting in and out of sight?  The sky is the limit as they say.

In addition, I now have an excuse to dust off some of my models that I thought were going to languish forever as nothing more than Apocalypse support.  In my to-be-built box I have an Aquilla shuttle, a Marauder bomber, a Lightning fighter, and a Thunderbolt heavy fighter.  Forge World’s upcoming Imperial Armor: Aeronatica tome will bring us rules for these and many more.  Time to make some room on the painting table.

In the mean time, here are some of the flyers I have in my collection or have built.  Click the links to go to the article or gallery for that piece.  Enjoy!

*****

Blood Angels Storm Raven

Grey Knights Storm Raven

Ork Fighta-Bomma – Forge World

Comments
  1. Daniel Kelly says:

    God that Fighta-Bomma is beautiful as always. Got myself a Dakkajet/Blitza Bomma kit recently and may be getting one or two more for my blood axe army i’m rebuilding. Intent is to have two Blitza Bommas for causing mayhem and a Dakkajet to try and keep other aircraft off of me or to randomly strafe ground troops.

    Would like to think that having Aerial units showing up far more often could be fun!

Feel free to leave comments, suggestions, or questions.

